top of page

Beautiful coastline of Melbourne

On a beautiful day, I enjoy taking a walk somewhere. Anywhere my feet will take me. That was what happened 2 weeks ago. It was a lovely winter day after weeks of depressing cold winter days. Mostly cloud covered grey sky with little sunshine, the sky burst out into a glorious sunshine with clear blue sky. But, it was cold.

For the second time, I took a train to Sandringham station from Flinders station. The train journey took about 30 minutes stopping at all stations. It was a pleasant train ride. Once I reached Sandringham station, it was a short 5 minutes walk to the beach with stunning views spanning far and wide into the horizon. It was my second experience on this coastline of Port Philips Bay. It is beautiful.



I was more prepared on this second trip. The first time I have been to this coastline was a week prior. I took the Sandringham train line to Brighton Beach station. 2 stops before its last stop, the Sandringham station. Brighton beach station is located directly across the beach. The beach stretches as far as my eyes could see with a proper concrete, bush, and dirt track if you don't want to get your shoes covered with sands. I walked from Brighton beach to Brighton beach yacht club, and back to Brighton beach station to train back to Flinders station. It was a good long walk. I gave myself a challenge if there was another beautiful day, I would continue my walk further along the coastline, which led to my second trip.

This time I brought along a pair of thong aka flip-flop to change. I wanted to walk closer to the water, feel the sand and water close to my bare feet. Smell the ocean and cold breeze on my face. On this second trip, I walked from Sandringham beach to Hampton beach, finished at Half Moon Bay before walking back to Sandringham station. It was a good long walk. A bit harder to walk on the sand. Satisfying at best. Soothing for the mind. Listening to the gentle waves flapping up and down against the shore.



26 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page