top of page

Tanjung Bungah market, Penang, Malaysia

New arrivals to Penang usually asked, where to buy grocery? There are plenty of options. From open-air traditional wet markets to air-conditioned modern supermarkets. Penang has it all. If you love to cook and even if you don't, a visit to a local wet market is a must.


Whenever I am back in Penang, I love to buy my grocery at a local wet market. Closest is the Tanjung Bungah market. It is the largest wet market on the northern side of Penang island, but it is small in comparison to the other traditional wet markets on the island.



Tanjung Bungah wet market is clean and easy to navigate around the stalls. I go there at least 2-3 times a day to get my fresh ingredients - mostly, the eggs, vegetables, herbs, fruits, fish, prawns, chicken and pork. They are relatively cheaper then buying at a modern style supermarkets. I can chose and buy the right quantity that I need to use at the moment, so I don't end up throwing food away. I can ask the butcher to prepare and cut the meat to how I want to use the meat. Everything I buy is in the right portion and right amount of what and how I want to use on the day or two days the most. That is what I love most buying at a traditional wet market. And, any other food items that is non-perishable with a long shelf-life, that I can't find at the market, I will buy from a modern style supermarkets, either at Gurney Plaza, Island Plaza or Gurney Paragon.


It depends on where you live in Penang, you are never far from the traditional wet market or modern-style supermarkets.


I hope you enjoy this short video clips on my recent trip to Tanjung Bungah market.




62 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page