top of page

Belanda Ayam

I first came to know of the word "belanda" from one of my YouTube subscribers. She asked if I have tried "belanda hu". "Hu" is a Penang Hokkien word meaning fish. "Belanda" is a Malay word for "Dutch". She explained to me that her mother used to make "belanda hu" in her family. According to her, it is a Penang nyonya dish. However, I have never heard of such a dish or seen it at a nyonya restaurant that I have eaten in Penang.

Intrigue by this newly found dish introduced by my YouTube subscriber, I spent more time researching the word "belanda" and the type of "nyonya" belanda dishes cooked by some nyonya families. The linguistic word "belanda" and its origin is not clear. Here is an article if you are interested to know more.


After some research, this type of nyonya dish is a sweet and sour dish with 2 key ingredients, tamarind for the sourness and sweet from sugar and caramlised onions or shallots.


I thought I will create this dish for the first time and see what it tastes like. I used chicken as my main protein. I used 3 shallots, 3 cloves of garlic, 1 cinnamon stick, 4 chicken thigh fillets, 1 knob of tamarind pulp mixed with water to make tamarind paste, 1 tablespoon of brown bean paste, 1 tablespoon of light and dark soy sauce, and 2 tablespoons of sugar.



My verdict. The flavour is mildly aromatic from the fried shallots and garlic, sweet and sour, with slight saltiness from the brown bean paste and soy sauce. Below is a short video on the first attempt. I will make a slight modification for a more robust flavour in my coming up YouTube video.


189 views4 comments

4 Kommentare


Gast
14. Juni 2022

Hi I'm Tailee, I have been trying to log in but it is not working. Anyway, I just put my comment here:

After going through the 'Belanda Ayam' recipe and video, I realised that it is my long lost favorite dish from my grandmother, who was also a nyonya. This dish in her version was called 'Hor lan kay'. Besides the chicken meat, she also added some potatoes.


This 'Hor Lan Kay' is indeed another unique nyonya dish, and I have done some research online on this dish's name or 'Belanda Ayam, the recipe was nowhere to be found. I guess every single nyonya has its own name for this dish.😃

Gefällt mir
Victor Khoo
Victor Khoo
14. Juni 2022
Antwort an

Hi Tailee..thanks for posting your comment, and sharing your memory of your grandmother's dish. The hokkien name rings the bell. If I am to say the word "hor lan" out loud, it does sounds like "holland". If I am correct, then it is our hokkien word for "belanda" ie dutch people, which means this dish reminiscence of your grandmother's dish is correct a Nyonya Chinese dish. The Malay word, which I translated from English, is not a proper name for the dish because the Malay/Indonesian refers Ayam Belanda to a Turkey. 🤔


By the way, I have approved your member request to join the community forum. You should received an auto email confirming this. Also, I did noticed that you…


Gefällt mir

stephen.s.roberts
13. Juni 2022

Hmmm ok that looks interesting, certainly a different take on sweet and sour eh.

Ive bought a tamarind block for next time i need it to try instead of the jar of sauce Ive got which has a lot of additives in it. 😁

Gefällt mir
Victor Khoo
Victor Khoo
14. Juni 2022
Antwort an

I prefer the tamarind pulp that comes in a block. Keep in the fridge and last a long time. It is more natural than the pre made tamarind paste in jar.

Gefällt mir
bottom of page