top of page

Fried oyster omelette..no thanks!!

Penang is famous for its street food. There is one street food that is lesser known to tourists. It is called "oh chien" in Penang Hokkien. Translated in English, it is called "fried oyster" but listed at the street stall as "oyster omelette". There are not many places left that sell "oh chien", but you can still find it if you look hard enough. It can also be found in other parts of Malaysia and Singapore. Thailand has similar street food version of the fried seafood omelette, which is called "hoy tod".


"Oh chien" is not the most popular and well known street food in Penang. I am not sure why. It could be that it is too greasy, or the rubbery, chewy and gluey texture of the omelette that is a bit unusual for some people to comprehend, or the texture and taste of the oysters. You either like it, or dislike it. Personally, I like it if it is cooked well, not too oily and not too soggy. It must be accompanied by a garlicky chilli sauce.


If you are interested to know how to make "oh chien" I have published a video on my YouTube channel. I substitute the main ingredient, oysters, with prawns. I find prawns work very well and between oysters and prawns, most people would eat prawns. I hope you enjoy this recipe. It is definitely a winner in my family and among my friends.





64 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page